Decision D
Thrash metal from Holland!

Razon de la Muerta Decision D - Razon de la Muerte (Crypta) 1992

1. "Diabolic Shadow" (7:32)
2. "World's Deception" (6:11)
3. "Babylon's Kingdom" (4:10)
4. "Holy Supper" (3:18)
5. "Hymn of the Refuge" (4:00)
6. "Ecclesia Anorexia" (6:42)
7. "Criticize" (7:01)
8. "Reincarnation of Death" (6:51)

Technical thrash with traces of early death metal. It took me a long time to get use to Edwin Ogenio's vocals as he is not the usual thrash vocalist. I'm not even sure how to descibe it, heís just different. Of the three Decision D discs, this one is still my favorite.

Moratoria Decision D - Moratoria (Crypta) 1993

1. "Social Darkness" (5:46)
2. "Devoted" (5:49)
3. "Statues of Deliberation" (4:53)
4. "Slaughterslice Atmosphere" (5:52)
5. "Derastation of a Nation" (6:51)
6. "Birth of Cadaver" (5:33)
7. "Bow Down in Suffocation" (5:41)
8. "Bastard" (5:10)
9. "Spiritu Santo" (2:03)

"Moratoria" continues in the technical thrash/death metal mode, but is even more technical than ever. This disc is an example of a band getting too technical. Technical to the point where there is nothing memorable whatsoever. At points I'll hear a cool riff, then it disappears, never to be heard again. Even the lyrics are so complex that they are hard to understand even when reading along in the booklet. "Statues of Deliberation" starts of with a few seconds of a cool mid-paced riffing before ripping into a grindcore-speed riff. Chorus? What's a chorus? Cramming as many riffs into a song as possible is the name of the game here. "Slaughterslice Atmosphere," while having a strange name, is the coolest song on the disc and has a monster riff. Edwin screams tend to grate on my nerves after a while, however. The last song "Spiritu Santo" is a weird Caribbean style song with Edwin screaming over top.

The Last Prostitute Decision D - The Last Prostitute (Bark Horse/Rough Trade) 1995

1. "Last Prostitute" (4:59)
2. "Graffiti" (3:18)
3. "Residence of Dishonour" (5:34)
4. "Women of Injustice" (4:42)
5. "Independent Remorse" (3:59)
6. "Smoke" (3:11)
7. "Accusations" (5:01)
8. "Forsaken" (3:56)
9. "You Ain't Nothing" (2:55)
10. "Racist Behavior" (4:53)

This disc is a whole lot better than "Moratoria" as Decision D slow down a bit, add some groove, and allow the songs to flow. "Smoke" is another Caribbean style drum song, only this time Edwin sings in a whisper rather than screaming. The band broke up shortly after the release of this disc.

Back to Index