Texas groove metal!

Warmaster Faithbomb -The American Jesus (indie) 1998

1. "Rise Above" (3:09)
2. "Come On Home" (3:52)
3. "The American Jesus" (3:59)
4. "Feed the Flesh" (3:46)
5. "The Down Road" (4:46)
6. "This Book" (3:51)
7. "Sin" (2:24)
8. "Fools Gold" (2:33)
9. "Blind" (2:37)

Southern fried Texas groove core! Fans of old C.O.C., Clearview, and Eternal Decision will certainly appreciate this band. However what sets them apart is the lyrical approach, which focuses almost completely on Christianity. Vocalist Rob Colwell, formerly of Sin for Sin., has a rough, modern sound to his voice.

Bleed Faithbomb-Bleed (SotD) 2002

1. "Won't" (1:46)
2. "Fear of God" (1:26)
3. "Carry Me To Heaven" (4:11)
4. "The Devil and Me" (3:21)
5. "Escape" (4:01)
6. "Casting Lots" (3:39)
7. "Fear Within" (3:55)
8. "Receive Him" (:05)
9. "Word to the Wise" (2:23)
10. "C.L.W." (2:50)
11. "Opiate For the Masses" (4:13)

"Bleed" is darker and heavier than "American Jesus" and features better production as well. Stylistically Faithbomb has pretty much remained true to their Texas groove-core sound, although they have added some elements of more modern metal styles. The shorter songs and a lack of guitar solos adds to this feeling as this seems to be the trend within nu-metal camps. Still, Faithbomb are no Limp Biskit or Korn. Vocalist Rob Colwell sings in a raspy, low register voice but doesn't let out even one rap. (Thank God!) Lyrically, Faithbomb are what their name implies, an in-your-face explosion of Christian values, ideals, and beliefs. "Receive Him" is a short cover of a song of the classic Vengeance Rising disc, 'Human Sacrifice.'

Back to Index