All female thrash metal band from New Mexico, USA. (Pictured above with Ultimatum)

Voyages Suspended - Prelude to Indignance (independent) 2009

1. "Scourge" (3:52)
2. "Venemous" (3:37)
3. "Suture" (3:02)
4. "0-14" [instrumental] (:36)
5. "Confusion" (4:01)
6. "Thrashing The Masses" (2:14)
7. "Prelude to Indignance" (4:42)
8. "A Darkened Place" (3:05)
9. "Dead" (4:42)

Suspended are an all female thrash metal band New Mexico, which is my neck of the woods. I was talking to a guy from another local band about them and he made a comment that the stuff these girls were writing was the stuff he wrote in high school. That may very well be true, especially considering all these girls at the time of this release are barely old enough to even go into a club. However that is also part of their charm. Suspended take a lot of old school metal influences and combine them with a youthful energy that comes straight out of the garage, along with a punk delivery and a passion for creating crunchy thrash metal. All this combines into something that is is harsh, angry, aggressive and quite enjoyable.

It only took me a couple spins to start digging songs like "Venomous" and "Confusion". Both songs are dynamic in that parts of the songs are fast and furious, while others are slower and more melodic. The title track also features some speedy punk infused riffs and a simple shout along chorus. The girls also add a bit of variety in the short acoustic intro "0-14". As well, the opening moments of album closer "Dead" start off as a melodic, acoustic piece before bursting into another heavy, guitar driven song.Vocalist Melynda Montonyo has a high, venomous, srhill voice that works well with the band.

For the most part, what you are going to get with Suspended is the sort of stuff that you pump your fist and bang your head to. Isn't that what metal is all about? Keep an ear out for these gals, they are only going to get bigger and better!

Back to Index