Towne Cryer

Death by Sin Towne Cryer - Death by Sin (Nehemiah) 1998

1. "Son" (4:09)
2. "Flesh Disciple" (3:26)
3. "I See" (3:36)
4. "Political Man" (3:42)
5. "Egypt" [instrumental] (4:39)
6. "Eyes Are the Shadow" (2:39)
7. "Torn" (3:31)
8. "Not Two, One" (2:46)
9. "Always There" (3:56)

Towne Cryer are unusual in that they play dark, heavy power metal/thrash but they have a female singer and Christian based lyrics. Gena McClure isn't a pop-metal singer however. Her vocals are gritty, thrashy and aggressive, befitting the aggressive music."Death by Sin" is the Towne Cryer's second full-length release, but is the first to be available on CD. I was already a fan of this band from the "Against All Evil" tape and bought this CD as a new release. As much as I like this CD, I was a bit disappointed that the band decided to leave off most of the guitar solos. Apparently the band felt the songs didn't need them, but I think some shred would have improved this album a bit. "Always There", a dark, Ozzy-inspired ballad is the one exception and includes some melodic guitar leads.

Back to Index