Antithesis 2001Antithesis
Anthithesis are heavy progressive metal from Ohio, USA.

Antithesis Antithesis (Voices of Wonder) 1998

1. "Neverworld" (4:40)
2. "Breading the Beast" (8:50)
3. "Limbo" (4:18)
4. "Sword of Mouth" (4:30)
5. "The Web" (5:36)
6. "Secret Fires" (3:28)
7. Plastic" (4:51)
8. "The Curse" (6:31)
9. "Descend" [instumental] (7:03)

Heavy progressive metal! When I say heavy, I mean it. Unlike a lot of progressive bands who tend to sacrifice heavieness for technique or melody, Antithesis have it all. Sort of a mix of Dream Theatre and Metal Church. The lyrics are intelligent and thought provoking as well. I'm not sure if they have an American label, this copy seems to be from Denmark.

Dying for Life Anthithesis-Dying For Life (Nightmare Records) 2001

1. "Soul of Ice" (5:35)
2. "Consequence" (5:12)
3. "Deceived Within" (4:50)
4. "Distanced" (6:11)
5. "Times of Trial" (8:26)
6. "Mad Poet" (6:21)
7. Politicide" (7:37)
8. "Dying for Life (Limbo Pt. 2)" (9:13)
9. "Netherworld" (8:22)

Disc number two for American speed metal band Antithesis. "Dying for Life" is another fabulous slab of heavy progressive power metal. The band's sophomore release features vastly improved production, some speed metal and thrash influences and a strong vocal performance. Frankly, I can't say enough good things about this one, except if you reading this page and you don't have it, you're missing out

"Dying for Life" was also released in Europe by Massacre Records with a completely different cover and a few bonus tracks, however, the bonus tracks are all from the debut.

Dreaming Reality Antithesis - Dreaming Reality (independent) 2010

1. The Madness (6:05)
2. Endless Circle (4:15)
3. The Prophecy (6:56)
4. Dreaming Reality (7:44)
5. Venom Divine (5:24)
6. The Bleeding (5:36)
7. Final Season (4:57)
8. Blue (4:16)
9. Breaking My Will (4:46)

Nine years have come and gone since the last Antithesis release. Some things have changed over that time,  most notable is that vocalist Ty Cook is gone, replaced by new vocalist Matt Adkins. As well bassist James Lewis left and later joined Temple Of Blood. According to the liner notes, in between Ty leaving and Matt taking over they had gone through another vocalist as well. A change in a vocalist can really affect the sound of a band. However, in the case of Antithesis, they haven't lost a step since "Dying For Life" (2001). Matt has a soaring voice that overall is high and clean, though not lacking in aggression whatsoever. He is a classic metal singer in every sense of the word. Musically, "Dreaming Reality" is less thrashy than I remember them being, and is progressive American power metal, maybe even touching on speed metal. The dual guitar attack of Paul Konjicija and Sean Perry rip and shred through each and every song, proving that they are proficient and technical musicians. The guitars are definitely the driving force of the music, though that is not to deny the impressive rhythm team of Brian Glodde on bass and Paul Kostyack on drums. Of the nine tracks included here, my favorites are "The Madness" and "Dreaming Reality". Both are epic tracks. "The Madness" is pure, unadulterated heavy metal with touches of speed metal. It is one of the more aggressive songs on the album. "Dreaming Reality" on the other hand is hypnotic and features some fantastic guitar riffs. The opening riff of the song reminds me of something early Fates Warning might have recorded. The album closes with a song that was available on the internet struck me as something I had heard before. "Breaking My Will" is a song that I am familiar with, though it is an Antithesis original. A quick check on-line reveals that the song had been previously recorded and released, so I'm sure that is where I heard the song. "Breaking My Will" is about as close to thrash metal as Antithesis get on this release. However, when it comes right down to it, it's just more solid traditional heavy metal. Welcome back from your 9 year rest Antithesis. (Thanks Mike)

Back to Index