Izzy Stradlin

Izzy Stradlin Izzy Stradlin And The Ju Ju Hounds (Geffen Records) 1992

1. "Somebody Knockin'" (3:28)
2. "Pressure Drop" (2:42)
3. "Time Gone By" (3:47)
4. "Shuffle It All" (6:20)
5. "Bucket O' Trouble" (2:10)
6. "Train Tracks" (4:27)
7. "How Will It Go" (3:52)
8. "Cuttin' the Rug" (5:02)
9. "Take a Look at the Guy" (4:45)
10. "Come On Now Inside" (6:58)

For the most part this disc is just straight forward rock n roll, with a Rolling Stones/Keith Richards bluesy vibe to it. "Shuffle It All" could easily have been a Stones song. Certainly not what I expected from an ex-Guns N' Roses member. However, a few songs stray from the 'classic' rock formula. "Pressure Drop" for instance, has more in common with 70's punk; that is until the song breaks into a reggae beat about halfway through the song. Likewise "Bucket O' Trouble" has a slight punk vibe to it. The vocals throughout are just mumbled out in a fashion that reminds me slightly of Joe Perry's solo albums. Izzy may be a good guitar player and a fine backup singer, but his lead vocals are not to exciting and lack charisma and character, as does much of the songwriting. Not a bad disc, but certainly not a favorite of mine either. In general I find this disc to be a bit boring. Cool cover art.

Related Collections:
Guns N Roses | Slash's Snakepit

Back to Index