Vicious Attack Overdose - Progress of Decadence (Futurist) 1994

1. "Rio, Samba E Porrada No Morro" (:48)
2. "Street Law" (4:59)
3. "Straight To The Point" (3:58)
4. "Progress Of Decadence" (3:59)
5. "Capitalist Way" (4:57)
6. "Deep In Your Mind" (:47)
7. "Noise From Brazil" (:54)
8. "Aluquisarrera" (4:40)
9. "Favela" (3:08)
10. "No Truce" (4:54)
11. "Faithful Death" (4:56)
12. "Stupid Generation" (3:14)
13. "Zombie Factory" (5:45)

This Brazilian metal band that I checked out on a whim. That's the nice thing about sites like LaLa.com, you can check out bands cheap. If you don't like it, you simply re-list it and send it to someone else and it only costs you less than $2. Well, having said that, "Progress of Decadence" is a keeper. Being from Brazil there are inevidebly going to be some comparisons to Brazil's biggest metal export Sepultura. The thing is, those comparisons are justfied, although Overdose are certainly no clone. The similarities come in because Overdose mix heavy, aggressive metal with Brazilian tribal beats. "Progress of Decadence" sounds like a veteran band and there is a reason for that. Overdose are a well known and popular band with a string of albums released before finally being picked up for international distribution. Unfortunately for Overdose, Sepultura was known first so despite the fact that they helped develop this Brazilian sound, they are often mislabeled as a clone. Too bad, as this is one lethal dose of heavy metal.

Back to Index