Sacred Oath

Bootlicker Sacred Oath - A Crystal Vision (Sentinel Steel) 1987

1. "Two Powers" (4:35)
2. "The Omen" (2:51)
3. "Message to the Children" (5:59)
4. "Magick Son" (5:00)
5. "A Crystal Vision" (4:59)
6. "The Beginning" (4:50)
7. "Shadow Out of Time" (4:03)
8. "The Ferrymans' Lair" (4:49)
9. "Rising From the Grave" (5:59)
BONUS TRACKS-1998 versions
10. "Two Powers" (4:21)
11. "Message to the Children" (6:28)
12. "The Invocation" (4:12)
13. "The End" (3:35)

Iron Maiden-esque Heavy Metal straight out of the 80's. Since this re-issue is on Dennis Gulbey's Sentinel Steel label, you can be assured of some galloping rhythms and majestic, high-pitched vocals, and 'A Crystal Vision' doesn't stray far from that description. The re-issue features a nice 12-page booklet with pics, a killer cover, bio and lyrics. The re-issue also includes several KILLER bonus tracks. No, the all caps was not a typo, I just wanted to re-emphasize how good these new 1998 tracks are. Since several of these tracks are simply re-recorded versions of the original songs, it just proves how important production can be to a band's overall sound. The two re-recorded tracks are far superior to the 87 tracks. The two tracks not from 'Crystal Vision' are both skull pounding power metal at it's best and my personal favorites from the cd. I would assume that these tracks meant that the band was still are as of '98 and were planning on recording a long awaited followup to their 87 classic, but alas this doesn't seem to be the case some three to four years later.

Back to Index