Shotfun Messiah
Shotgun Messiah
Originally from Skovde, Sweden where they became enormously popular, Shotgun Messiah moved to Los Angeles, USA in the mid-80's in an attempt to gain a broader audience. They started off as a melodic, LA-sleaze type metal band before evolving into a heavier, industrial influenced metal band.

Shotgun Messiah Stencil Shotgun Messiah (Relativity) 1989

1. "Bop City" (3:54)
2. "Don't Care 'Bout Nothin'" (4:20)
3. "Shout It Out" (4:12)
4. "Squeezin Teezin" (4:05)
5. "The Explorer" [instrumental] (3:53)
6. "Nowhere Fast" (4:00)
7. "Dirt Talk" (4:30)
8. "I'm Your Love" (4:53)
9. "Nervous" (4:08)
10. "outro" (:38)

High energy early 90's powder puff hair metal. All guns are a blazin' on this disc however. Don't expect wimpy guitar riffs and solos. Take a listen to the full blown rocker "Shout It Out" or the balls to the wall instrumental "The Explorer" and any doubts about this band's chops will be squelched. OK, the lyrics are typical of the hairspray, leather and lace genre. After all, "Squeezin' Teazin'" and "Bop City" isn't exactly a title you'd see on a Judas Priest or Iron Maiden album. The band's teased hair look came straight out of the L.A. glam scene as well, even though Shotgun Messiah are originally from Skovde, Sweden. All I have to say is, "who cares!" Putting aside the stereotypical looks and lyrics, I actually think that Shotgun Messiah's debut is a well recorded, well-written, well performed, and infectious heavy metal/hard rock platter. Came with a niftly little Shotgun Messiah stencil, pictured above.

Shotgun Messiah - Second Coming (Relativity) 1991

1. "Sexdrugsrock'n'roll" (3:25)
2. "Red Hot" (4:23)
3. "Nobody's Home" (4:44)
4. "Living Without You" (4:07)
5. "Heartbreak Blvd" (4:18)
6. "I Want More" (6:10)
7. "Trouble" (4:36)
8. "Ride the Storm" (3:59)
9. "I Wanna Know" (4:46)
10. "Babylon" (2:57)
11. "Free" (5:13)
12. "You and Me" (4:15)
13. "Can't Fool Me" (4:00)

Most people would say that this is Shotgun Messiah's best album, and I would tend to agree. It's heavy, yet melodic and focused. There are several songs on here that are quite memorable and will have the average 80's rocker banging his head. "Trouble," "Heartbreak Blvd" and "Can't Fool Me" are some of the best songs on the disc, but the entire disc is an enjoyable listen. The lyrics can be cliché, as in the cheesy opener "Sexdrugsrockn'roll," but overall, Shotgun stays away from the overtly typical sexual lyrics that one associates with this type of commercial metal. I think one of the other things I enjoy about this album, and this band, is that their music is as good as the Skid Row's of the late 80's/early 90's but their music is not overplayed to the point of annoyance. Shotgun Messiah, never having had the recognition they probably should have garnered, are a fresh listen without the sappy radio hits. Unfortunately, this would be the last 'good time rock n roll' album these guys would release, as they switched gears for their follow-up moving even further away from the 'hair metal' label that they are labeled. "Babylon" is a New York Dolls cover.

I Want More Shotgun Messiah - I Want More (Relativity) 1992

1. "I Want More" (4:20)
2. "Search and Destroy" (3:30)
3. "53rd and 3rd" (2:47)
4. "Babylon" (3:14)
5. "Nobody's Home" (4:27)

WoooHoooo! The last remaining CD to complete the Shotgun Messiah collection. (Thanks Arttie.)

Clocking in at just over 18 minutes long, this barely qualitfies as an EP, considering I have singles that are this long. However, the material contained herein isn't bad at all. As a matter of fact, I really like the punk cover of Iggy's "Search and Destroy" and the glammy New York Dolls cover "Babylon". (This song also appears on 'Second Coming'). Also, "53rd and 3rd" is a Ramones cover. "Nobody's Home" is an acoustic version of the same song that appears on their "Second Coming" album. "I Want More" is a cool little odds and sods EP.

Violent New Breed Shotgun Messiah - Violent New Breed (Relativity) 1993

1. "I'm a Gun" (3:29)
2. "Come Down" (3:11)
3. "Violent New Breed" (4:57)
4. "Enemy in Me" (4:05)
5. "Revolution" (3:35)
6. "Monkey Needs" (3:24)
7. "Rain" (3:46)
8. "Jihad" (3:56)
9. "Side F/X" (2:03)
10. "Sex" (4:24)
11. "Overkill" (3:12)
12. "I Come in Peace" (3:41)

Wow! Talk about a stylistic change. After releasing two pop/hair metal albums that were actually quite good, Shotgun Messiah do a stylistic U-turn with this industrial metal gem. I had many warnings from friends as to how 'bad' this album was. Once again, always check out music for yourself because despite this album being very different from the band's other discs, it is still quite good, and very heavy. Shotgun Messiah, while being accused of following trends, deserves credit for creating an early industrial album that is built around heavy metal song structures and vocal melodies. After all, this was released in 1993. The only comparisons I can even think of is perhaps some White Zombie, although I really think that this cd has better musicianship, and was also released before White Zombie became the flavor of the day.

Back to Index